Shape IU's Future

Sample Short Image

Vote in the Trustee Election

Indiana University helped shape you. Vote in the Trustee Election to shape Indiana University.

If you graduated from Indiana University, you have a say in how the university is run. All you need to do is vote in the annual Trustee Election. The trustees oversee the university, and three of the trustees are elected directly by IU alumni. Voting opens at 12:01 a.m. ET June 1 each year and runs until 11 a.m. ET June 30. If that falls on a Sunday, ballots are counted on June 29. The governor appoints the remainder of the board, including the student trustee.

All trustees serve three-year terms, except the student trustee, who serves two years. There is no term limit; however, not more than one of the trustees elected by the graduates and not more than two of the trustees appointed by the governor may reside in the same county. The student trustee is exempt from the residency requirement.

Want even more of a voice? IU graduates can run for election. Questions? Contact Amy Cope, alumni trustee election coordinator, at or 812-855-6610.

Meet your current alumni trustees
MaryEllen Kiley Bishop

MaryEllen Kiley Bishop, BS’79, JD’82
Carmel, IN

Attorney, partner Cohen Garelick and Glazier; former national chair, IUAA; IU Athletics Committee; Indiana Super Lawyer, top 25 female lawyers.

Philip N. Eskew Jr.

Philip N. Eskew Jr., MD’70
North Webster, IN

Retired physician; Varsity Club member; Well House Society; professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, IU School of Medicine.

Patrick #8221;Pat#8220; A. Shoulders

Patrick "Pat" A. Shoulders, BA’75, JD’78
Evansville, IN

Attorney, Ziemer Stayman Weitzel & Shoulders LLP; director, IU Foundation; former national chair, IUAA; former director, IU Varsity Club.